board of directors

David Kneale

David Kneale

Michael Harvey

Michael Harvey

Keith Warburton

Keith Warburton

Executive directors

David Kneale (53)

Chief executive officer


Appointed as a director in April 2006

David was appointed chief executive officer of New Clicks in January 2006. He was previously chief commercial officer of health and beauty retailer, Boots Group plc, in the United Kingdom. During his career at Boots David held positions in finance, buying and marketing before being appointed director of merchandise and marketing in 1995 and managing director of international retail development in 1997. After three years as managing director of Waterstone’s Booksellers and a director of HMV Group, he returned to Boots in 2002 as director of trading and was appointed chief commercial officer in January 2003.

Michael Harvey (38)

Managing director, Clicks

Appointed as a director in April 2006

Michael joined Clicks as a management trainee in 1989. After gaining experience in store management he assumed responsibility for regional operations in the Gauteng area and later in the Eastern and Western Cape. He was appointed marketing director of Clicks in 2000 and the following year moved to Discom where he was appointed managing director in 2002. Michael was appointed head of retail for the New Clicks group in June 2004 and managing director of Clicks in February 2005.

Keith Warburton (49)

Chief financial officer

B Com, CA (SA)

Appointed as a director in April 2006

Keith has extensive experience in senior financial management in the retail sector. He was previously financial director of Metro Cash and Carry and later financial director and deputy managing director of Score Supermarkets. Keith was appointed financial director of Truworths in 1997 and two years later joined HomeChoice Holdings as chief operating officer. He left the corporate environment in 2001 to establish a business consultancy and joined New Clicks as chief financial officer in September 2005.

David Nurek

David Nurek

Peter Eagles

Peter Eagles

Robert Lumb

Robert Lumb

Martin Rosen

Martin Rosen

Roy Smither

Roy Smither

Lucia Swartz

Lucia Swartz

Non-executive directors

David Nurek (57)

Independent non-executive chairman

Dip Law, Grad Dip Company Law

Chairman of the Governance, Nominations, Remuneration and Transformation committees

Appointed June 1997

David practised as an attorney with Sonnenberg Hoffman Galombik for 32 years, including 23 years as a partner and director. He joined Investec Group in 2000 and is regional chairman of the group’s Western Cape businesses and global head of legal risk for the Investec Group. He is non-executive chairman of Distell Group, Lewis Group, JCI and Randgold & Exploration, non-executive deputy chairman of Foschini and a non-executive director of Aspen Pharmacare, Pick ‘n Pay Stores, Sun International and Trencor.

Peter Eagles (59)

Non-executive director

B Sc (Pharm), M Sc, Ph D

Appointed April 2006

An experienced academic and registered pharmacist, Professor Eagles has been a member of the South African Pharmacy Council for 13 years and was appointed president in 1998. He was appointed chairperson of the Medicines Control Council of South Africa in 2003. He has served as professor of pharmaceutical chemistry at the University of the Western Cape since 1992.

Robert Lumb (64)

Independent non-executive director
Chairman of the Audit and Risk committees

Adv Dip Tax Law, CA (SA)

Appointed April 2004

Rob is a former partner of Ernst & Young. He served as managing partner of the firm’s Western Cape practice from 1989 to 2002 and was a member of the national executive committee for 18 years. He is a non-executive director of Distell Group and HomeChoice Holdings and non-executive chairman of Metje & Ziegler.

Martin Rosen (57)

Independent non-executive director

Appointed April 2006

Martin is an accomplished retailer and marketer, having spent 33 years with Pick ‘n Pay before starting his own marketing consultancy in 2004. After 17 years in the retail operations of Pick ‘n Pay, Martin was appointed group marketing director in 1998 and managing director of Pick ‘n Pay Group Enterprises in 2001.

Roy Smither (62)

Independent non-executive director

B Com, CA (SA)

Appointed September 2006

Roy has extensive corporate experience. He served as an executive director of Tiger Brands for eight years until his retirement in 2006 and was chief executive officer of Imperial Cold Storage between 1993 and 1998. Prior to this he held senior positions in the Barloworld and Hunt Leuchars & Hepburn groups. Roy is a non-executive director of Nampak and Hans Merensky Holdings.

Lucia Swartz (50)

Independent non-executive director


Appointed January 2004

An experienced human resources practitioner, Lucia is group head of human resources at Sappi. She was previously human resources director of Seagrams Spirits and Wine Group. Lucia served as a non-executive director of New Clicks Holdings between 1997 and 2000 before relocating to New York for three years.